Schwerkolt Cottage & Museum Complex
Information: Schwerkolt Cottage is an original pioneer's stone cottage in a garden setting adjoining beautiful Yarran Dheran bushland park. August Schwerkolt, a German-born pioneer, was one of the first settlers to build a solidly-constructed home in the Mitcham area. Built from rocks and wood quarried alongside the Mullum Mullum Creek, it is one of the few stone cottages in metropolitan Melbourne that still stands on its original site. The cottage, built in 1888, was the last of three cottages built by the Schwerkolt family. The pioneer stone cottage was sold to the former City of Nunawading in 1964. Restoration of the cottage began and it was turned into the museum-standard facility that it is today. Visitors to Schwerkolt Cottage and Museum Complex can learn all about life back in the 1800s and view some of the agricultural machinery that was used to maintain the vast orchards. Visitors can discover how the cottage was built using stones from the banks of the Mullum Mullum Creek. The rafters and verandah posts were originally young trees cut on site. The cottage, which features a barn, wine cellar, smokehouse, orchard machinery shed and museum, is next to the Mullum Mullum Creek and surround by parklands. There are also barbeque facilities, a children's playground and creekside walks. Three rooms are furnished in the style of the period. Also on the site is a museum that has a large local history collection of documents, photographs, maps, newspapers, oral histories and costumes of the era. The history collection which includes more than 4000 artefacts, 3600 photos and 6000 documents belongs to the Whitehorse Historical Society.
Phone: 03 9262 6333
Address:

Deep Creek Road
Mitcham VIC

Website: http://www.whitehorse.vic.gov.au/Schwerkolt-Cottage.html
  PRINTER-FRIENDLY
VERSION