Heritage News

We welcome contributions for assessment here.

<< Back to list

Three Sisters declared an Aboriginal Place

The Three Sisters at Katoomba, in the Blue Mountains World Heritage Area has become the 98th Aboriginal Place to be declared in NSW. 


Heritage Minister Robyn Parker said the declaration recognises the special cultural, social and historic significance of the site to the Aboriginal community.


“The Three Sisters are significant to Aboriginal culture as a mythical place of legends and stories,” she said.


“The area down into the valley below the Three Sisters was used as a ceremonial space with legend telling how the Three Sisters came to be the land formations commanding a view of the valley in traditional times.


“The area is highly valued by the Aboriginal peoples of the Gundungurra, Wiradjuri, Tharawal and Darug nations for its majestic land formations, incredible views across the ranges and down into the valley to the Kedumba River below.”


Ms Parker said that since March 2011, the NSW Government has declared 26 Aboriginal Places.


The Gundungurra Aboriginal Heritage Association nominated the Three Sisters for declaration as an Aboriginal Place to ensure its recognition and protection as a place of special significance to Aboriginal culture.


Index of all
Australian Heritage articles